RSS Feed

{Gumpaste + Fondant} Strawberry Shortcake.

Last month I made my niece a Strawberry Shortcake Cake for her 3rd birthday. The cake part itself wasn’t a challenge at all, but let me tell you her face was. Especially being that I was doing it all by hand. PERIOD. I don’t know if any of you have ever noticed it, but to replicate “licensed characters” is HARD to say the least. Some elements of them are easier than others, but often times they look a little goofy once done..ha! I’ve had my share of those cake uh-oh’s too, especially on a Tinkerbell one time. I tried to totally make her from hand out of fondant…omg…she looked like the fairy godmother instead…heehee! I learned one thing from that cake experience: I don’t hand make 3-D Tinkerbell’s anymore! Ok, back to SSC 🙂 I dove again into making a character face. I thought a time or two I was going to have to go buy a SSC figurine at Wal-Mart to put on top…especially when I got to the part of making her eyes…UGGH!  Just for the fun of it, I would like to show you guys the steps of making her face. (Please excuse the quality of these pictures. They were taken with my phone. I had no intention of anyone EVER seeing them!) I used a sugar cookie for the base, then I started covering and layering with fondant and gumpaste. I used gumpaste on her hair, simply because it dries quick and very hard. Fondant dries much slower making it easier to work with also, but sometime the durability of gumpaste is a must.

The finished product…yay!

About Cookies & Cream

Britney Harper is a SAHM with 4 children, 2 with whom she homeschools through Pensacola Christian Academy's Abeka curriculum. The children range from age 2 years to 8 years old. Britney is married to the love of her live for over 11 years now. They dated/courted for 4-5 years before they were married, and never kissed until the weekend of the wedding. Love WAITS !!! Britney has a burning desire to teach her children to the best of her abilitly to love the Lord Jesus with all their heart, and she prays one day they will all come to a saving knowledge of him. Also a goal of hers is to teach them to respect and to be kind tothers, no EXCEPTIONS. Britney also loves flowers, working in her flower beds, making cute cookies, making cakes, loving on her babies, and most of all my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

2 responses »

  1. it looks great, Isee it’s SSC.Nice job

    Reply
  2. gorgeous! what shape cookie cutter did you use and how big was it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

